Please note: Due to scheduled maintenance, NCEI systems may be unavailable  Saturday, January 16 between 10:00 AM ET - 4:00 PM ET. We apologize for any inconvenience.

NCDC Employees Receive Department of Commerce Awards

The Department of Commerce selected 23 NCDC employees to receive Gold, Silver, or Bronze Medals in 2014. Congratulations to all!

NCDC 2014 Department of Commerce Award Winners

2014 Department of Commerce Award Winners

Standing, from left to right: Sara Veasey, Matt Menne, Thomas Karl, Imke Durre, Walter “Jesse” Glance, Deke Arndt, Scott Applequist, Ken Knapp, Anthony Arguez, Drew Saunders, Michael Tanner, Russ Vose, Jesse Enloe, and Katy Vincent

Seated, from left to right: Jeff Privette, John Bates, Mike Squires, Debi Riddle, and Nancy Ritchie

Not pictured: Jim Kossin, Claude Williams, Chris Fenimore, and Karin Gleason

Gold Medal Winners

The Gold Medal is the highest honorary award granted by the Secretary of Commerce, recognizing distinguished performance characterized by extraordinary, notable, or prestigious contributions that have an impact on the mission of the Department.

John Bates, Jeff Privette, Walter “Jesse” Glance, Nancy Ritchey, Ken Knapp, Drew Saunders, Thomas Karl, and Michael Tanner are awarded a Gold Medal for the creation and operational implementation of a new, extensible community standard to produce and preserve climate data records.

Silver Medal Winners

The Silver Medal is the second highest honorary recognition granted by the Secretary of Commerce, recognizing exceptional performance characterized by noteworthy contributions that have a direct and lasting impact within the Department.

Anthony Arguez, nominated by the National Weather Service, is awarded a Silver Medal for developing a revolutionary tool that integrates trusted data and scientific analysis techniques for rapid responses to local climate questions.

Bronze Medal Winners

The Department of Commerce Bronze Medal is the highest honor award that the Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere may bestow, recognizing superior performance characterized by outstanding or significant contributions that have a direct and lasting impact within the Department.

Jim Kossin is recognized for the development and transfer to operations of novel hurricane forecast techniques for eyewall replacement cycles.

Russ Vose, Scott Applequist, Mike Squires, Imke Durre, Matt Menne, Claude Williams, Chris Fenimore, Karin Gleason, Deke Arndt, and Jesse Enloe are recognized for innovations in climate science, providing the authoritative source of geospatial data for operational climate monitoring in the United States.

Debi Riddle and Sara Veasey are recognized for working with the NOAA Office of Oceanic and Atmospheric Research to produce NOAA’s first five-year research and development plan using a rigorous process and inclusive engagement of NOAA scientists and stakeholders.

And, Katy Vincent is recognized for working with NOAA’s Office of Communications and External Affairs to improve NOAA climate communication practices and building a following of stakeholders to enhance NOAA’s climate services.