Storm Events Database

Event Details

Event Tornado
-- Scale F2
-- Length 6.8 Miles
-- Width 880 Yards
State ILLINOIS
County/Area PUTNAM
WFO DVN
Report Source NWS STORM SURVEY
NCDC Data Source PDS
Begin Date 2004-04-20 16:44:00.0 CST
Begin Location 1NNE FLORID
Begin Lat/Lon 41.25/-89.28
End Date 2004-04-20 16:53:00.0 CST
End Location 4NE GRANVILLE
End Lat/Lon 41.30/-89.18
Deaths Direct/Indirect 0/0 (fatality details below, when available...)
Injuries Direct/Indirect 5/0
Property Damage 8M
Crop Damage
Episode Narrative The low topped supercell that produced 2 earlier tornadoes in Stark and Marshall/Bureau counties continued to be a cyclic tornado producer. The deadliest and longest lived tornado started at 1644 CST, 0.7 miles North Northeast of Florid in Putnam County and moved northeast toward Granville. The long lived nature of the tornado was due to it riding along a warm front pushing through Putnam and La Salle counties. Satellite imagery indicated a strengthening mesocyclone at 1625 CST (2225 Z) with the formation of a new line of feeder clouds into the supercell, and KDVN 88D velocity data showed a strengthening TVS signature by 1635 CST (2235 Z).

Witnesses reported a multiple vortex tornado just prior to its arrival in Granville. The tornado hit Granville at 1647-1648 CST which coincided with the failure of the main power feed into town. The town was bisected by the half mile wide tornado with 12 buildings destroyed, 45 with major damage, and 26 with minor damage (mainly residential). The Granville State National Bank lost its roof and Hopkins Elementary School lost the roof over the old gymnasium with damage in nearly all the classrooms. Significant damage also occurred to Granville Drugs, the only drug store in town. In a strange twist of irony, the town had finally recovered from a major fire 4 years earlier that decimated much of the business district. The tornado continued northeast out of Granville and crossed over into La Salle County (WFO LOT) at 1653 CST (2253 Z), 3.8 miles Northeast of Granville.

The Granville/Utica tornado was the first significant test of a new statewide mutual aid response agreement. In Granville 5 people were injured by the tornado, including an eldery female who suffered a heart attack during the tornado and was eventually Life Flighted to a Peoria hospital. Injuries were low due to the 32 minutes of lead time before the tornado struck Granville. Damage in Granville is estimated to be at least $8 million with the school suffering at least $3.5 million in damage.
Event Narrative Rated very high end F2


     ‚Äč



All events for this episode:

Location County/Zone St. Date Time T.Z. Type Mag Dth Inj PrD CrD
Totals: 0 5 8.000M 0.00K
FLORID PUTNAM CO. IL 04/20/2004 16:44 CST Tornado F2 0 5 8.000M 0.00K
Totals: 0 5 8.000M 0.00K